Creativity Tweets of the Week – November 17, 2012

Don’t worry, U.S. readers, you’ll still have time to get the turkey for Thursday even if you take the time to read the posts I’m linking to on creativity and writing in my latest Creativity Tweets of the Week. (For my many readers outside the U.S., do you celebrate holidays that seem to exist for the dual purposes of stuffing your face and sparking family squabbles?)

WRITING

  • Behold, creativity in action. I snapped this shot in New York’s Central Park about a month ago. Am I the only one a bit unnerved by the similarity across the canvases?

    37 Tips to Get You Writing Again, Jessica Baverstock, Creativity’s Workshop: When 36 tips isn’t enough, Jessica is there. Thankfully, she breaks them into subheads, and there are some gems. I hate to say it, since you’re here with me, but Tip 38 should be “Stop reading blogs and get back to work.”

  • Image Systems, Liaisons, and Motifs, Ingrid Sundberg, Ingrid’s Notes: OK, this is not a post you can skim. But spend a bit of time with this post by Ingrid, a Vermont College of Fine Arts MFA student, and you’ll learn to add “unspoken weight to your narrative.”
  • When it Absolutely, Positively Isn’t Ready, Brunonia Barry, Writer Unboxed: The post discusses deadlines a fair amount, but I like it when it shows hints of going deeper into the notion of not knowing if a creative work is complete, or if too much time is being spent on it. I like this line: “I do believe a manuscript can be overwritten.”

BLOGGING

  • 4 Dangerous Blogging Mistakes and How to Avoid Them, Andrew Handley, Social Media Revolver: My favorite line from this post, and one I push in the blogging classes I teach? “At least find your unique voice.” And note Andrew, like Jessica above, uses a common blogging trick that I too often fail to use–he created a numerical list.
  • 5 Reasons to Take A Break From Your Blog, Sté Kerwer, Dukeo: I love having permission, even if I don’t take advantage of it. As PJ Reece noted recently, I don’t post as much as I used to, but at least he says I’m “still pithy.” Oh and look, another list!
  • The “How Often Should Fiction Writers Blog?” Manifesto, Christy Farmer, A Southern Romance: Don’t expect a definitive answer, but she plans to blog intermittently so as not to interfere with her creative writing. But to be honest, her post had me at manifesto. What a delightful and underused word. (I blame you, Karl Marx).

CREATIVITY

  • I can’t paint worth a darn, so instead I paddled my wife around the lake. We saw a lot of sunbathing turtles, none being immortalized on canvas.

    12 Most Inspirational Messages for Creatives, Monica Carter Tagore, 12 Most: Monica had me at creatives. I use that word constantly (longtime readers know this), but it isn’t yet mainstream. And note the entire conceit of this blog is posts in numerical lists!

  • 7 Ideas to Feed Your Muse, Pat Wood Blogging: Pat had me at muse, a word I probably over-use. I practice #1, letting her in early, but I like #4: Listen. And look–another list!

Oh, let me include one other link here. The fantastic blog Write to Done is again conducting its annual contest for the Top 10 Blogs for Writers. I was honored to be one of the winners last year. Be sure to nominate your favorite (only one vote counts) for this year!

About Patrick Ross

I'm the author of Committed: A Memoir of the Artist's Road.

11 Responses to “Creativity Tweets of the Week – November 17, 2012”

  1. As one of your many readers outside of the US, I can confirm that celebrating Thanksgiving in Paris is pretty awesome. All the yummy food without the family dysfunction! :)

    Seriously, though, I am SO excited to come home for Christmas for some quality family time. Hardest part of being an expat is being so far from loved ones.

    Thanks for all the great links. Sigh…guess I’ll put off writing a little longer to read them ; )

    • Hi Sion! I remember when I was living in England and Thanksgiving came around. I went to the co-op grocery store and did the best I could to approximate the ingredients needed for a Thanksgiving dinner. The young woman at the register rang up my items, looked at me, and said “You’re an American.” Not a question, a statement. I smiled and said yes, and she wished me a happy Thanksgiving. And it was!

      (Unfortunately, no one warned me about Guy Fawkes day, so I’m riding my bicycle back to my flat and I see all of these figures being burned in effigy, which was like something out of a Twilight Zone, but that is another story!)

      So happy you’ll be back in the US for the holidays! :)

  2. And Happy Thanksgiving to you and all your fellow Americans! Thank you for the mention. Very kind. I suppose Guy Fawkes is a bit odd if you don’t know what it’s about. Come to think of it, it’s a bit odd if you do! Great post Patrick as usual. Hope you make the list again! :-)

    • Happy to include you, Pat! You know, any holiday can seem odd when you think about it. At Christmas we cut down live trees, drag them inside our houses, and line them with light bulbs and glass balls. Really?

      • Well, put like that…. You’re right. Most things we do at holidays are a bit odd. Halloween? Frightening the children silly – or is it them doing it to us?

  3. Thanks Patrick! Ingrid’s blog on liaisons and motifs is wonderful. I’d love to hear more examples. I did read one of the novels she mentions, but did not notice. I will have to go back and look at it again. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. So glad you mentioned Jessica’s blog–she’s fantastic. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Patrick, my dear cyber-friend.

    • And a Happy Thanksgiving back to you, Charlotte! (I’ve been thinking about Oregon and specifically Portland recently, by the way, I was working on that section of my book over the last month. Lovely town, although I had to describe a pouring rainstorm.)

  5. Ah, I will have to set aside time to peruse these. And, yes, Happy Thanksgiving!

Chime in!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,009 other followers

