Starting Down the Road

You’ve stumbled across a project of self-indulgence. This blog will chronicle my renewed path, an artist’s road toward an art-committed life.

The road metaphor is not an accident. In the summer of 2010 I spent about five weeks driving through thirty-five U.S. states. Along the way I interviewed more than forty artists and creators — creatives, as I’ll be referring to them in this blog — about their rights under copyright, about their art, about creativity, and about living an art-committed life.

I began the trip as a journalist, wishing to capture their thoughts to share them with the world. Along the way, the trip also became about me, and about the dormant creative inside me.

Thus the self-indulgence. I am no longer merely a chronicler of others’ stories. Their stories have become a part of mine.

In future posts I will share experiences from the road. I’ll introduce readers to the artists I met. I’ll share how their stories and their sharing affected me. And I’ll offer insights on creativity and the creative process, building on what I do on Twitter.

So forgive my self-indulgence, and enjoy.

About Patrick Ross

I'm the author of Committed: A Memoir of the Artist's Road.

68 Responses to “Starting Down the Road”

  1. What a wonderful journey you’re on, Patrick. I don’t forgive your self-indulgence — I applaud it! Our culture doesn’t really encourage living a creative life, so every time one of us decides to buck that cultural influence it’s a great thing for all of us.

    Best of luck with your pursuit of a more creative life!

    ~Sandy Ackers

  2. Sandy,

    What a thoughtful and encouraging comment! It’s been many years since I engaged in the self-indulgence of an art-committed life. Back then, pre-interwebs, my support group was a half-dozen fellow writers, all of us finding a place to meet once a month where we didn’t have to spend any money to talk. (A nearby college student lounge often did the trick, it had great sofas and no one knew we weren’t students!)

    Now I feel I have the ability to have a broad network of support online, and I’m loving it!

    Patrick

  3. Patrick, this reminds me of an old paperback I have somewhere by Studs Terkel called Working: People Talk About What They Do All Day and How They Feel About What They Do. Terkel also traveled the country interviewing people.

    To me, your interview subjects are far more exciting. I already wish I could read the book. (Any plans for a book? :~) I’m enthralled by the idea of that huge adventure you went on—both the inner and the outer adventure—and looking forward to reading more about it. (I’m in the middle of reading your Nov 1 post, “Living an Art-Committed Life,” and just *had to* click on the link that said “35-state road trip” for some quick background.)

  4. Hi @fearofwriting ! You know, while I was on the trip, blogging daily on my nonprofit advocacy site, a friend texted me that I was “the Studs Terkel of the Internet generation.” What a compliment!

    Yes, I definitely see a book here, this blog is helping me get my head around all of the things I want to put in it, while still making it a compelling read. I have an agent in New York awaiting a proposal, just have to finish putting it together. (Do I have a fear of finishing the proposal? Perhaps!)

    • Hi Patrick,

      I forgot to subscribe to the comments for this post so I didn’t see your reply till now. That’s completely awesome that you have an agent waiting for your proposal! I would be the first to line up to buy a copy when it’s published.

      How did you go with the proposal? If you’re still having any fear or procrastination issues about that, let me know. I would love to encourage you to finish.

      ~ Milli

      • Thank you, Milli, I appreciate the offer. I just wrapped up the proposal this week, we’ll see what the agent thinks. FYI, I went on to Amazon yesterday and ordered your book!

      • Fantastic, Patrick. I’m thrilled for you about the proposal being finished and an agent primed to look at it. Also excited for myself, as your potential first reader of the book. I’d love to hear how it goes with the proposal.

        Thanks for buying my book. I’m honored you’ll be reading it.

  5. Glad to catch up to you here and find that I’m not that far behind in your writings! Glad to see this blog and Love the name “The Artist’s Road” Now off to read October! LOL!

    Leah

  6. Hi Leah,

    Great to hear from you! Happy reading, not too many posts for you to catch up on !🙂

    Patrick

  7. What an amazing idea! Wish I could have been a fly on the wall during all those interviews, but luckily I can be now with your videos. Thank you for sharing all this information. It is inspiring!
    I just found your site so I don’t know if you’ve mentioned this or not, but are you thinking about writing a book/ e-book about your travels? Just curious! Can’t wait to read more about your journey🙂

    • Hello, Angela! Thank you for visiting, it led me to your blog, which is also inspiring. I’m now intimidated, because I am no filmmaker, as I learned the hard way on this trip. (Audio was a bear, framing a shot, editing, all challenging, but lighting — oh my, lighting — I have so much respect for filmmakers now.)

      I am working on a book about the road trip and the artists I met, but the feedback I’ve received from blog readers is that they enjoy it most when I insert myself in the narrative, that is I share not just these artists but what they meant to me, how they inspired me personally. As a journalist by training I’m not really used to sharing, using the word “I” or writing in the first person.

      I’ve started a low-residency MFA in Writing program and am working with an instructor one-on-one on the book. Right now I’m crafting the section of the road trip (Virginia to Georgia) where my teenage daughter accompanied me, and I reconnected with her, discovering for the first time the young woman she is becoming. The process is very exciting, but it also means taking my time with the book, so it likely will be awhile before my literary agent can shop it in earnest.

      Thanks again for visiting and for your encouragement!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ideas are Plentiful, Choosing is the Key | The Artist's Road - October 24, 2010

    […] The Artist's Road Just another WordPress.com site Skip to content HomeAbout ← Starting Down the Road […]

  2. Allowing Ideas to Percolate | The Artist's Road - October 26, 2010

    […] You don’t have to imagine this woman. Printmaker Sabra Field is very real, and I had the pleasure of interviewing her this summer in her studio and home on my 35-state trip across the United States. […]

  3. Living an Art-Committed Life | The Artist's Road - November 1, 2010

    […] which I drifted and a path to which I am attempting to return. The creatives I interviewed in my 35-state road trip across the United States this summer were all living art-committed lives, and were a tremendous […]

  4. Creating Opportunities and Seizing Them | The Artist's Road - November 2, 2010

    […] was one of the more than 40 creatives I interviewed this summer on a cross-country trip across the United States. As someone who lives and works in the Washington, D.C., area, Robert was […]

  5. Why We Need to Set our Goals High | The Artist's Road - November 10, 2010

    […] This wisdom was shared with me by one of the creatives I interviewed on my 35-state cross-country road trip this summer, in which I interviewed dozens of artists and creators. In Philadelphia, I was welcomed […]

  6. When Creativity Knocks | The Artist's Road - November 17, 2010

    […] met Steve in Memphis, Tennessee, on my 35-state road trip this summer. I was tired. I had awakened in Birmingham, Alabama, driven to Oxford, Mississippi, to […]

  7. Are You Original? | The Artist's Road - November 22, 2010

    […] by all means be original. Break rules, as novelist Michael Swanwick told me during my 35-state road trip interviewing creatives. But before you send off to an agent that romance novel in which the hero […]

  8. Create Your Own Opportunity | The Artist's Road - November 24, 2010

    […] met Pippa White during my cross-country road trip, interviewing creatives of every stripe in thirty-five states. I was struck by her poise (befitting […]

  9. Maximizing Your Creativity | The Artist's Road - November 29, 2010

    […] Steve “Voice of Golden Eagle” Cox shared with me when I met him in Memphis on my cross-country trip interviewing creatives. He was referring to writing songs, but it could apply to any creative endeavor. If the muse is on […]

  10. I’m Guest Blogging Today… | The Artist's Road - November 30, 2010

    […] Central.” As I do on this blog every Wednesday, I profiled one of the creatives I met on my cross-country road trip. In this case it was self-published author Bill Aicher of Madison, […]

  11. Serving Your Clients and Your Muse | The Artist's Road - December 1, 2010

    […] was one of the creatives I interviewed during my cross-country trip across the United States this summer. I’ll admit, I’ve been thinking about his leap into self-employment a fair […]

  12. Learning Art by Doing | The Artist's Road - December 8, 2010

    […] May, New Jersey, realist painter Victor Grasso is by any definition a success. While on my cross-country road trip this summer interviewing creatives, I had the good fortune of meeting Victor at a show of his work […]

  13. Our Annual Crustacean Christmas | The Artist's Road - December 13, 2010

    […] in a little diversion from my usual post of providing tips on creativity I’ve learned through interviews with creatives. I’d like to share a family tradition we have here of making borderline-tacky Christmas […]

  14. Never Give Up On Your Dreams | The Artist's Road - December 15, 2010

    […] and several grandchildren. (See my video interview with her below.) I was near the end of my 35-state road trip across the United States interviewing artists, and I was pretty tired when I made it to her house […]

  15. 9 Steps to Self-Employment Success | The Artist's Road - December 20, 2010

    […] The final kick for me was motivation from the inspirational creatives I interviewed this summer on my cross-country road trip across America. But like many creatives who are driven by a bit of self-deluding mania, I believe I […]

  16. Advancing Storytelling to a Fine Art | The Artist's Road - January 19, 2011

    […] invited me into his beautiful home in Rochester, Minnesota, during my cross-country road trip across America interviewing creatives. (A five-minute video of Kevin is […]

  17. Overcoming the Stigma of the ‘Starving Artist’ | The Artist's Road - January 31, 2011

    […] profession. She shared her story with me in her home studio in Vancouver, Washington, at the end of my cross-country road trip across America interviewing creatives on camera. You can see my video with Amy at the bottom of this […]

  18. The Road to Creativity | The Artist's Road - February 2, 2011

    […] provide a bit more insight than I have on this blog into my cross-country American road trip, in which I interviewed numerous creatives and experienced an unexpected creative awakening […]

  19. Guest Post: Do the Work, Dispel the Myth of Creative Inspiration | The Artist's Road - February 9, 2011

    […] post from accomplished visual artist Amy Buchheit. Amy was one of the creatives I interviewed on my cross-country U.S. road trip last year; a profile of her and a short video was posted recently to this blog. Enjoy her post […]

  20. An Artist With Spunk « The Artist's Road - February 14, 2011

    […] interviewed Colleen last summer on her remote farm in central Virginia during my cross-country U.S. road trip. Her video, pasted below, is a must-watch. I am not exaggerating, you must watch it, to see […]

  21. Blogging is Such Sweet Sorrow « The Artist's Road - February 28, 2011

    […] your book, people aren’t going to come back. My friend Colleen Doran — who I met on my road trip across the U.S. interviewing creatives — gets huge traffic to her blog, so much it’s actually created […]

  22. Fear of Rejection « The Artist's Road - March 4, 2011

    […] Thornton on the Fear of Writing blog, I discuss another case of fear of rejection, one I faced when embarking on a cross-country U.S. road trip interviewing creatives on camera. (You can catch Milli’s great guest post she wrote for this […]

  23. Returning to Our Creativity « The Artist's Road - March 7, 2011

    […] learned the challenges of returning to creativity during my cross-country U.S. road trip interviewing creatives. taken Labor Day 2010, a day of both labor and an inspirational […]

  24. The Short-Order Writer « The Artist's Road - March 21, 2011

    […] don’t need my writing to win the equivalent of a three-star Michelin rating. But my cross-country U.S. road trip, meeting inspiring creatives from all walks of life like musician Rochelle Smith and […]

  25. The Sword and the Pen « The Artist's Road - March 23, 2011

    […] nugget of wisdom, shared with me by Vermont illustrator Adam Glazer on my cross-country U.S. road trip, should strike a chord with many creatives. (A short video interview with him is below.) But while […]

  26. A Gift to My Muse « The Artist's Road - March 28, 2011

    […] loyal readers know, late last year I returned to an art-committed life. The word “commitment” is key. I need income, but I also need to embrace my creativity. […]

  27. Creativity Atop the Pyramid « The Artist's Road - March 30, 2011

    […] He did say creatives need to find a way to stand out, and they can do that by following their heart. That was the message of many of the creatives I interviewed on my cross-country road trip. […]

  28. Making Your Passion a Profession « The Artist's Road - April 6, 2011

    […] who has turned a passion into a profession. I interviewed him in his photography studio while on my cross-country U.S. road trip. My video interview with him is […]

  29. Collaboration and Mutual Respect « The Artist's Road - April 13, 2011

    […] a bit of her film shoot, and then interview her. You can see my resulting video from this stop on my cross-country U.S. road trip […]

  30. What Defines an Artist? Self-Taught vs. Trained « The Artist's Road - April 25, 2011

    […] my road-trip across the United States interviewing creatives of all stripes, I met lots of artists who were self-taught, and many who had extensive formal […]

  31. Everyone Has a Story « The Artist's Road - May 2, 2011

    […] has a story. I knew that when I launched a cross-country U.S. trip to interview creatives. I love telling people’s stories. I love reading people’s […]

  32. Creatives in Love « The Artist's Road - May 9, 2011

    […] what connects two hypothetical hearts is beyond me. But I couldn’t help but observe on my cross-country U.S. road trip interviewing creatives that of those who had significant others, their partners frequently were […]

  33. What is a Creative? « The Artist's Road - May 11, 2011

    […] network. Not surprisingly the artists I crossed paths with, including those I interviewed on my cross-country U.S. road trip,  all personified […]

  34. When Did You Know You Were an Artist? « The Artist's Road - June 1, 2011

    […] asked this question of just about every creative I interviewed on my cross-country U.S. road trip. Now, in the first film I’ve produced since that road trip ended, I feature highlights from a […]

  35. Revealing Yourself Through Your Art « The Artist's Road - June 13, 2011

    […] As I’ve written here before, I’m new to Oprah-style sharing in my writing; as a journalist I tell other’s stories and kept myself out of the narrative. That was the approach I used in the short films I produced of creatives I interviewed on my cross-country road trip. […]

  36. Traveling the artist’s road: Patrick Ross on the art-committed life « Creative Liberty - June 13, 2011

    […] summer, Patrick kicked-off his blog with what I would term a worthy project, in the form of a cross-country road trip in which he visited 35 states to interview artists about why creativity was so important to their […]

  37. Traveling the Artist’s Road « The Artist's Road - June 14, 2011

    […] What a delight! Liz Massey of Creative Liberty has interviewed me in a podcast, where she asks me about my return to an art-committed life, inspired by my cross-country U.S. road trip. […]

  38. Creativity Tweets of the Week — 8/5/11 « The Artist's Road - August 5, 2011

    […] “Following Your Dream,” Kathy Lynn Hall, Red Mojo Mama’s Musings: One woman’s story of becoming a writer. (Related post: Starting Down the Road) […]

  39. 4 Steps to Breaking Out Your Creativity « The Artist's Road - August 16, 2011

    […] I post wisdom on the creative process I learned from talented and hard-working artists on my cross-country trip across the United States, but on occasion I post about how I’m applying those lessons in my own life learning. This is […]

  40. Creativity Tweets of the Week — 9/2/11 « The Artist's Road - September 2, 2011

    […] “Schtick Lit,” Kelly Kathleen Ferguson, Hunger Mountain: Given the focus of my WIP can be described as “humorous creative nonfiction,” I was pleased to come across this post about an author with a similar project who realized she was writing “immersion memoir,” or ‘schtick lit.” Like me, her narrative is built around a road trip, but she introduced her “schtick” by dressing on the trip as Laura Ingalls Wilder. (Related: Starting Down the Road) […]

  41. Is it Wrong to Imagine Success? « The Artist's Road - September 7, 2011

    […] I traveled the country talking with artists about creativity, the left brain-right brain dichotomy came up a lot. Some of […]

  42. Putting Creatives in a Box « The Artist's Road - September 13, 2011

    […] interviewed several dozen creatives on a cross-country U.S. road trip last year, and have had lengthy discussions on the creative process with hundreds more in my […]

  43. Do You Suffer from “Not-Quite” Paralysis? « The Artist's Road - September 20, 2011

    […] deadline? I keep editing, revising, tweaking. Unlike some of the artists I interviewed on my cr0ss-country U.S. road trip, I suffer from the paralysis of “Not Quite.” I can get a little obsessive. Last […]

  44. Do You Suffer from “Not-Quite” Paralysis? « The Artist's Road - September 20, 2011

    […] deadline? I keep editing, revising, tweaking. Unlike some of the artists I interviewed on my cr0ss-country U.S. road trip, I suffer from the paralysis of “Not Quite.” I can get a little obsessive. Last […]

  45. Creativity Tweets of the Week — 10/7/11 « The Artist's Road - October 7, 2011

    […] Here’s this week’s short but sweet list of links on creativity and writing I circulated this week on Twitter. And for those readers not already sick of the vagabond Mr. Bacon, he made an appearance in Maine earlier this week at Julia Monroe Martin’s blog. I guess I’m not the only one who’s done a cross-country U.S. road trip. […]

  46. Has it Been a Year Already? « The Artist's Road - October 20, 2011

    […] I launched The Artist’s Road a year ago. I didn’t know what my intentions were with it, not on a conscious level. So I welcomed readers with this: […]

  47. Is Journaling a Cure for Creative Blocks? « The Artist's Road - December 13, 2011

    […] because I simply couldn’t connect with the exercises, in particular the journaling. When I started down this new path to an art-committed life late last year, I dug out my old copy–it’s telling I had held on to it all these […]

  48. Congrats, You’ve Won a Top Blog Award! « The Artist's Road - December 23, 2011

    […] from the many creatives I interviewed on my cross-country U.S. road trip, the experience that sparked the launch of this blog in the fall of 2010 and that helps explain the blog’s title. It could be insights from my […]

  49. The Artist’s Road Leads to Chicago « The Artist's Road - February 21, 2012

    […] of this blog–The Artist’s Road–carries a double meaning. I launched this blog in response to a cross-country U.S. road trip I took in 2010 in which I produced short films from interviews with artists, so the title is an […]

  50. When the End of the Road is Just the Beginning | The Artist's Road - November 6, 2012

    […] from that trip. My first post is dated October 23, 2010 and, appropriately, is titled “Starting Down the Road.” It begins, “You’ve stumbled across a project of […]

  51. Five Keys to Living an Art-Committed Life | The Artist's Road - April 30, 2013

    […] artists reawakened my creative passion and set me on this path to an art-committed life. It led me to launch this blog and to start the travel memoir I am about to […]

  52. What Do You Want to See on The Artist’s Road? | The Artist's Road - December 18, 2013

    […] now about two months into my fourth year with The Artist’s Road–it’s true, I launched in October of 2010–and I must say the third was pretty fun. I was blessed to have two posts featured on […]

  53. Why I Left my Literary Agent | The Artist's Road - January 14, 2014

    […] a craft book on the creative process, documenting the lessons I learned from these creatives. (I started this blog at the same time with a similar […]

  54. The Artist’s Road Memoir will be Published this Fall | The Artist's Road - May 12, 2014

    […] 2010: I launch The Artist’s Road blog in part to share my story, but also to hold me publicly accountable to my new commitment to […]

  55. 5 Reasons Why I’m Ending The Artist’s Road Blog | The Artist's Road - April 14, 2015

    […] time I’ve contributed to or run six blogs, with The Artist’s Road being the latest. I launched on October 23rd, 2010, mere weeks after concluding a cross-country road-trip. Since then I’ve added more […]

  56. Sharing Joy on the Writing Road | Cheryl Reif Writes - August 21, 2015

    […] 2010: I launch The Artist’s Road blog in part to share my story, but also to hold me publicly accountable to my new commitment to […]

  57. Guest Post: The Road to Creativity | Charlotte Rains Dixon - November 1, 2015

    […] summer I drove across the United States, a six-week trip through thirty-five states.  I interviewed more than forty creatives — writers, painters, songwriters, photographers, […]

Chime in!

