Creativity Tweets of the Week — 03/04/11

Do you have tiger blood and Adonis DNA? Then you, like Charlie Sheen, can handle the Creativity Tweets of the Week. The links below on creativity and writing are only for F-18s that deploy their ordnance on fools and trolls. The inspirational links can only be handled by total bitchin’ rock stars from Mars. If your brain fires in a way that is, I don’t know, maybe not from this terrestrial realm, then you are ready for my roundup of the best links I tweeted this week. If you can’t handle it, then get out of my face with your corduroys.

CREATIVITY

INSPIRATION

  • Burnout is Beautiful,” Melissa Gorzelanczyk, guest post at Zen Habits: Full confession time. As much as I loved my last job running a nonprofit, after four years I burned out. This post reminded me I should forgive myself for burning out, and celebrate how it led me to my new path, pursuing an art-committed life.
  • Taking Care of Yourself Means Balance,” Rob Ruscher, Sisarina: I like #2, “socialize with live people,” and Sisarina is known here in the D.C. area for organizing #DCtweetup gatherings.
  • I’m Getting Published!!!!Julie Anne Lindsey, Musings from the Slush Pile: What is more inspiring than a writer who has finally escaped the “slush pile” and landed that coveted author contract?

WRITING

  • What I learned in 15 Minutes a Day…Judy Clement Wall, Fear of Writing: Can you write at least 15 minutes a day for an entire month? Judy discovers it’s harder than she thinks.

    Please. If you have llama blood, kindly move on.

  • How to Prep to Write a Novel,” Charlotte Rains Dixon: Just like you should stretch before exercise, you need proper prep before jumping into your writing.
  • Is Marketing Non-Stop and All-Consuming for all Authors?Jody Hedlund: A comparison of marketing burdens for traditional-published and self-published authors. Some good thoughts in the comments section.

A final word of advice from Charlie Sheen, self-described “high priest Vatican assassin warlock” and star of unforgettable films such as Hot Shots! and Hot Shots! Part Deux: “Stay away from the crack, which I think is pretty good advice, unless you can manage it socially.”

About Patrick Ross

I'm the author of Committed: A Memoir of the Artist's Road.

4 Responses to “Creativity Tweets of the Week — 03/04/11”

  1. Oh Patrick, I just love that you’ve ended your wonderful round-up of links with a quote from Charlie Sheen, the new sage of Hollywood. Thanks for including me!

  2. ROTFLMAO!!! OK maybe not the floor, but the same action, sitting on the couch. That. Was. AWESOME. I needed that good belly laugh after a really serious, “deep” conversation I just had. Good on ya.

    Now I need to get reading! πŸ™‚

Chime in!

