Where Do You Fall on the Blogging Spectrum?

It’s a question to which any blogger should have a short and simple answer: At what point on the blogging spectrum is your blog? The problem is that only people who have taken my blogging class are familiar with this map of web content that I created a couple of years ago. Now I’m sharing it with the world on The Loft Literary Center blog Writer’s Block. Head on over and share your thoughts on the spectrum itself; where you fall if a blogger or would fall were you to blog; and where the blogs you enjoy reading are placed.

About Patrick Ross

I'm the author of Committed: A Memoir of the Artist's Road.

7 Responses to “Where Do You Fall on the Blogging Spectrum?”

  1. I had trouble commenting on the Writer’s Block site (disqus doesn’t seem to like me today), so I’m posting this here.

    Thank you for sharing this, Patrick. The chart is clear, concise, and helpful. When I drift too far from the square that is my best fit, my audience disappears. It is good to have this to remind me where to place myself.

  2. Hi Patrick – this is a very interesting way of thinking about blogging, and how to develop an audience. I do have a question, though, as to how this chart would work for blogs like mine, where some of the posts have factual material but also analysis. As in this one: http://allaboutwork.org/2013/03/22/the-problems-of-jonah-lehrers-proust-was-a-neuroscientist/
    I report facts about the book I’m writing about – which I think is important because these facts really haven’t been raised elsewhere – but I also express my opinion, namely that these kinds of mistakes and misreporting shouldn’t be happening.
    How would a post like this fit into your typology?

    • Hi Fiona,

      I think only the author can say where they fall on the spectrum. I would note that every blog by definition has opinion–we all carry biases–but the opinion blog I mention has as its intent providing opinion and thus influencing opinion. Also, every blog–one would hope–is conveying fact.

      I note that we can move vertically and horizontally with varying posts; the last thing I’m trying to do is pigeonhole people. That said, I think this spectrum squares well with reader expectations when coming across a blog. Many writers have been successful at writing beyond the confines of a genre because of their writing and the value they bring. That said, there’s a reason publishers resist publishing books that bend or break genres, because it challenges reader expectations. So if you are seeing your audience grow and your comments fill with good engagement, then you know that you are winning over readers, even if they have to make some adjustments to expectations.

  3. Experiential and maybe confessional. However my topics fall in several but limited range: cycling, sustainable living, art, culture and trael.

    • Hi Jean! Yes, thank you for noting your topics. It’s important to note that the spectrum does not in any way restrict what you might write about. That said, there is good reason to have some consistency of content, and I know you do a good job of weaving those distinct topics across a broader narrative and authorial experience.

Chime in!

